Register Your Demographic

Don’t worry – it’s not like a government census. We would like to know some facts about you to later tie them your responses when we begin to pull the information together.

It is not mandatory to register to participate, but if you wouldn’t mind, would you share as much demographic information about yourself as you are comfortable? You do not need to do that here on the blog (unless you want to). If you’d care to tell us about yourself privately, send an email to howkidsthink@gwnews.com with the following information:

  • Your name: we need to be able to match your demographic data with your answers, so please also tell me how you will be referring to yourself on the blog (if you tell us your name is Sue but you go by a pseudonym on the Internet, please let us know)
  • Your age group: (20’s 30’s, etc)
  • Your area of the country/globe (share as much as you feel comfortable sharing; we will not share your information with anyone else and you will not be added to any lists)
  • Your interest in the project, for example:
  1. If you are an educator, please tell us what type of school you teach at (public or private) and what grade(s) you teach (or have taught)
  2. If you are a homeschool parent, please tell us how many kids you homeschool, their approximate ages, and how long you’ve been doing it
  3. If you are a parent with children in a Christian school
  4. If you are a parent with a children in a public school
  5. If you are none of the above, but still want to contribute to the discussion, tell us about your interest in the project

You’ll get an entry into this week’s drawing for registering, so let’s go!

25 Comments

Filed under How Kids Think

25 responses to “Register Your Demographic

  1. Chelsea Caivano
    mid-30s
    San Antonio, TX
    In the ’90s I taught journalism and English in a public high school, grades 9-12.
    I am now a mother of three children, two of which are enrolled in a private Christian school.

  2. – Joshuaesc
    – In my 30’s, wife in her ?
    – The great state of South Carolina, the Palmetto State (Beautiful Places, Smiling Faces)
    – I work for a church, http://www.christchurchofthecarolinas.org ; I am a parent currently to two boys, under 2.5 years and desire to gain insight/understanding to raising them and educating them in a manner which will please our Lord

  3. sent in my email. i hope you will keep linking to this on your regular blog for a while as i have yet to bookmark this blog.

  4. Registration sent! This looks like a very cool project…

  5. Shauna

    Shauna
    30s
    Colorado

    I’m currently homeschooling my 6-year-old for the second year. I’m interested in education and learning at all levels, and my degree was in secondary education (science).

  6. Natalie

    Late 30s

    North Carolina

    I am a home educator. In the past, I was a neuropsych researcher. Love learning about learning. Can’t wait to learn more. Thanks for the project.

    This is my third year homeschooling, two girls (8) & (5).

  7. byfaithmom

    byfaithmom
    40’s
    Midwest
    I am a homeschooling mother of 5. They are currently 23, 21, 16, 14, 8. This is our 13th year homeschooling.
    Our desire from the start has been to train them to think biblically about all of life. Even though we have been doing this for some time now we still love to learn new ways of integrating a biblical worldview into our instruction.

  8. HeatherHH

    HeatherHH

    20s

    midwestern US

    Homeschooling mother of 4 children: ages 6, 4, 2, and 3 months. We’ve been teaching our children at home from the very beginning (6 years), and it’s been 2 years since we started teaching our oldest to read (if you want a more academic starting point).

  9. * Your name: Jaime (a.k.a. “jj_west)

    * Your age group: 30ish

    * Colorado

    * Your interest in the project, for example:
    I currently teach Special Education in a well-known public school district in Colorado. I typically see 20-40 students a day, in small group settings, while attempting to remediate specific student weaknesses. I have been teaching for nine years. This sounds like a very interesting project.

  10. RT

    -Rebecca Tredway
    -In the 30’s crowd very soon
    -Midwest
    -I’m trained as teacher (middle school language arts and social sciences) but will stop short of calling myself an educator as I only practiced in college courses. I’m very interested in how kids learn.
    -Parenting a 3yr old in a Christian preschool; wondering what path we’ll take once kindergarten begins.

  11. – Michelle Ray

    -37 yo, mother of 5

    -From the midwest

    -Homeschooled:
    My 10th grader K-5th
    My 8th grader K-3rd
    My 5th grader K-1st
    My 3rd grader K-nd
    Now all of the 4 above mentioned children are in public school and I am at home with our 2 year old.

    -90 undergraduate hours in elem ed.

    -If I had the opportunity and the funds to put my children in a quality, private Christian school, I would do so in a heartbeat. I believe that quality Christian schools trump both homeschooling and public school. Of course, I’ve never been able to test this theory. 🙂

  12. Sent in my info via e-mail. Looking forward to these discussions!

  13. Jules – Everyday Mommy

    45 year-old mother of one

    Kansas

    Homeschooling one in kindergarten

    I’m a homeschooler and I believe it’s the only real choice for Christian parents considering the state of our public schools today.

  14. mama2tlc

    charlotte- mama2tlc

    27 y.o. mom to two

    from IN, now home is southeast

    have taught:
    public: 1st grade, 4th grade, middle school (language arts)
    private: 2nd grade

    Currently ‘homeschooling’ my preschooler- abc’s, 1,2,3’s and to love Jesus first and formost!

  15. Mimi2six
    60 yrs. old
    Oklahoma
    currently teaching upper elementary grade in a Christian school; formerly taught 6th grade language arts and gifted education in public school (19 yrs in public school)

  16. My name is Karen and I go by…Karen. I’m 26 so I’m clinging to my 20’s. I live in the Midwest of the US right now though I was raised in Tennessee. I have a B.A in Christian Counseling from a small Bible college.

    My husband and I are raising three girls ages almost 6, almost 3 and 6 months old. We have been teaching them at home from birth but we’ve only been doing “formal” home education for 1 full year (last year & this year). I was homeschooled my entire K-12 education by my parents, so we’re 2nd generation homeschoolers.

    My husband was educated in both Christian & public schools. He has an education degree from a state university & a Bible degree from a small Bible college. He currently substitute teaches in some of our local public schools in addition to his primary job which is an Assistant Pastor position (Director of Children’s Ministries) at our church. Before we had children we both worked for one school year at a Christian school (he as 5th grade teacher, me as a little bit of everything). So we’re quite familiar with most forms of education.

  17. Krista – or teacherkrista

    Late 20’s

    Eastern Washington state

    I am a
    1) parent to a 5 month old son
    2) middle school teacher in my former life🙂
    3) my husband taught at a Christian school last year and my mother has taught at said school for the past 15 years

    My husband and I have very different world views- he’s must more post-modern than I am. But we still want it to be a biblical worldview, especially for our son and future children.

  18. Hi! I’m Alli, and I’m stoked about this project!
    I’m 29, and will be 30 the beginning of October.
    I live in Alabama with my cutie patootie kids and kind hearted husband.
    I have a 4 year old boy (5 in Nov) and a little girl who just turned 3 a few weeks ago.
    I’m a stay at home mommy who is trying to homeschool her kiddos.

  19. michelle

    1. Michelle
    2. late 30’s
    3. the Northeast…Boston suburbs
    4. I have four children–my oldest two -aged 9 1/2 and almost 8 are in the public school (4th and 2nd grades), then a 4 year old in a Christian pre-k for two days a week and a two year old at home. We are missions minded Christian parents who thus far have had our kids in public school, but always re-evaluating from year to year if we should consider another environment (homeschool or private) for them.

  20. Cool project! Info is emailed. Thanks,

  21. No, not emailed, sorry! Here it is:
    1. Emily
    2. 31 yrs old
    3. Midwest
    4. 3 kids, two in a Christian school, one baby
    5. Never a teacher, had a normal corporate job b/f the kiddos. I will be homeschooling at some point in the future pending a move to a not yet disclosed location.
    6. I found your project b/c I read Craig’s blog, which I started reading when I came across it while trying to find the whereabouts of another seminary student (I found who I was looking for, but got hooked on seconddrafts in the process).

  22. Robin

    Robin~~RJBmom7

    late 40’s

    Northern New Jersey

    Homeschool mom for 19 years
    7 children, 2 married, one in Bible college, 4 at home, ages 8-14, grades 3, 5, 7, 9

  23. Hi, I desire to subscribe for this web site to obtain most recent updates, therefore where can i do it please assist.

  24. You really make it seem really easy together with your presentation however I find this matter to be actually something which I think I might by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and extremely huge for me. I’m looking ahead on your next publish, I’ll attempt to get the dangle of it!

Leave a Reply

